Your Council

Who's Who

Fourteen councillors represent the whole of Corfe Mullen 11 of whom were elected by the residents of Corfe Mullen in May 2024 and 3 were co-opted in June 2024.

Here is a list of the six staff working for the Town Council. 

You can contact them on 01202 698600 or

Town Clerk:  Catherine Horsley 

Deputy Clerk: Rachel Virrill

Administration Assistant: Becky Callender

Groundsmen:  Philip Jessiman, Paul Shepherd & Darren Barnes

Staff Structure

What is a Town or Parish Council?





Dorset Council (unitary authority)




Parish or Town, eg.

Corfe Mullen



Civil Parishes are a fundamental tier of Local Government set up in 1894, not to be confused with Ecclesiastical Parishes of the Anglican Church. Each has its own democratically elected local council in accordance with statute. These are called either Parish or Town Councils. There is no difference between Parish and Town Councils: Town councils are just Parish councils which, because of their population, size and impact in their area, have by resolution of their Council taken the name of Town Council, and their Chairman may also be called the Mayor.

Parish and Town Councils are first-tier local authorities and although they have few duties compared to principal authorities (unitary, county, district and borough councils), they have surprisingly wide powers. This means they can choose to provide a range of services, either on their own or in partnership with principal authorities. So keen and active Town and Parish councils can make a real difference to life in a village or town.

Parish and Town Councils also have a right to be consulted on issues affecting the village: this includes the right to comment on all planning applications, proposed off licences, roads, landfill sites etc.

Parish and Town Councils are funded through the precept (sometimes called the parish charge) which is collected as part of your Council Tax.

Your Local Council Responsibilities